NABOKV-L post 0017140, Fri, 3 Oct 2008 08:37:52 -0300

[NABOKOV-L] [Awards] Philip Roth
Dear List,
Being a non-academic and non-American reader, only after I picked up my abandoned copies of Roth's "Portnoy's Complaint" and "Human Stain" (because of all the present discussions about a Nobel prize), and perused their cover, did I learn that he'd been awarded a Pen/Nabokov award and that such an award existed.
Perhaps other participants would be interested in sharing this information:

The PEN/Nabokov Award is given to a living author whose body of work, either written in or translated into English, is of enduring originality and consummate craftsmanship.
2006: Philip Roth

Previous PEN/Nabokov Award winners:
2004 Mavis Gallant
2002 Mario Vargas Llosa
2000 William H. Gass

Search archive with Google:

Contact the Editors:,
Visit Zembla:
View Nabokv-L policies:
Visit "Nabokov Online Journal:"

Manage subscription options: